Concealed Carry Weapon

NEW CHANGES IN THE CCW LAW EFFECTIVE MARCH 14TH, 2007

Carrying a concealed handgun is a privilege in Ohio, and with this privilege comes a responsibility to be aware, not only of the common sense rules of safe firearm handling, but the laws that affect how, when and where you can carry your firearm, and how to properly use the handgun to defend yourself or another person.

I want to know more about the Concealed Carry Weapons Law

What do I need to do to RECEIVE a Concealed Carry Weapon's License?

You must be at least 21 years of age, 
Applicant must first obtain 12 (twelve) hours of weapons proficiency class as required by law. You may check with local sporting goods store, gun clubs, etc for instructors; make sure the instructors who offer the class have a certificate of training from the NRA or OPOTA, ask to see their credentials. 

CCW Processing hours are Monday - Friday 8:00am - 3:45pm 

Applicant must have the following 3 (three) items for processing. 
1. Completed application 
2. Training certificate, the original is valid for 3 years 
3. Current colored photograph 2"x2" stapled on the application, photo must be taken within the last 30 days, if you do not have a photo available our office an take one for an additional $5.00 fee. 

Upon arrival, the application and method of payment will be reviewed for completeness and accuracy. If applicant has been a resident in Ohio for five or more years an initial application fee of $67.00 will be applied. If applicant been a resident in Ohio for less than five years, an initial application fee of $91.00 will be applied. As of Dec. 1st 2013 we will accept cash (exact amount) or money order only, we DO NOT accept any kind of credit cards/debit cards. 

A background check will be conducted on all applicants. This will include but not limited to an electronic fingerprint scan, local record check, mental competency and juvenile record check; upon completing your background investigation our office will notify you by phone of your approval or denial. Our office is taking approximately 45 days from the day your application is processed (due to the new Senate Bill #337 the background checks done by BCI&I are taking longer to process, but we are trying to stay within the allotted time period). Concealed permit is now valid for 5 years.

What do I need to do to RENEW my Concealed Carry Weapon's License?

If applicant has been a resident in Ohio for five or more years a renewal application fee of $50.00 will be applied. If applicant has not been a resident in Ohio for less than five years, a renewal application fee of $74.00 will be applied.

Renewal Window:

Ohio Revised Code 2923.125 (F) provides for a renewal of a CCW License 90 days prior to and no later than 30 days after the license expires. This provides a 120-day window during which the licensee may begin the renewal process. If the licensee fails to initiate the renewal process within this 120-day period the license will expire. You will be able to renew your license if your original certificate is not expired.

Certification:

For a renewal, the licensee shall submit a certification that is not older than six years. I will use your current certification we have on file as long as the date of certification is less than six years. If you registered for classes prior to January of 2002 you will be required to submit a new certificate that meets the provision of Ohio Revised Code 2923.125 (G)

Renewal Process for licensee:

1. Applicant can stop in our office Monday - Friday between the hours of 8:00am - 3:45pm (No appointment necessary) 
2. All applicants will be required to complete a new application. These are available on our webpage or you may stop in the office during normal working hours to pick one up. A new color photo needs to be attached to the application as well, taken within the last 30 days, if you don't have one available our office can take a photo at an additional $5.00 fee. 
3. Applicant will be required to submit a set of fingerprints using the web check. 
4. Upon completion of your background check a new license will be issued. This new license will now indicate an expiration that is five years from date of renewal. 
5. Applicants should bring their old permit in and it will be destroyed once the new permit has been issued. (This is not required by law).

For your Second Renewal you will not be required to have the 4 hour re-certification course after March 27, 2013.

All questions regarding the Concealed Carry Weapons Law should be directed to Sgt. Amber Alfrey at 419.774.3564

Our office is located at 597 Park Ave. East (former Peoples Hospital building) on the second floor.

We will call when the CCW license has been approved then you can pick up at our office during business hours or if you would like to give us a self-addressed stamped envelope we will mail your CCW license to you.

 

Last Updated: 14 AUG 2018
© 2017 Richland County, Ohio. All Rights Reserved.